Florida Uber & Lyft Rideshare Accident Lawyers



Rideshare services like Uber and Lyft have become one of the most popular modes of transportation throughout the state of Florida. Not only is ordering a rideshare simple and easy, but individuals can pay for them directly through their electronic devices and easily obtain comfortable transportation to the location of their choosing. 

Unfortunately, rideshare drivers are just like any other type of motorist on the roadway, except they work for Uber or Lyft. They do not have any specialized training and are often responsible for causing devastating motor vehicle accidents. Individuals who have suffered debilitating injuries may have the right to financial compensation in cases like this. 

With help from an experienced Florida Uber & Lyft rideshare accident lawyer at Luhrsen Goldberg, injury victims can demand financial compensation and ensure liable parties are held accountable to the fullest extent of the law. A dedicated car accident lawyer at our firm is available for a free consultation when rideshare accident victims and their surviving family members have questions about the value of their claim, are interested in exploring their legal options, or are ready to take back control of their lives.

What to Do After an Uber or Lyft Rideshare Accident in Florida 

In the aftermath of a Lyft or Uber accident, these specific steps could increase the likelihood of a successful claim against the at-fault party:

  1. Call 911 and get police to the accident scene
  2. Collect as much evidence as possible surrounding the rideshare accident
  3. Get medical attention and treatment
  4. Contact our Uber accident lawyers

It is also important to remember that it is ill-advised to say anything to the insurance company without an attorney or to post about the rideshare accident on social media. 

When Rideshare Service Auto Insurance is Active

One of the most common ways rideshare accident victims can recover compensation after a collision is by filing a claim against the rideshare company’s insurance policy. Having an Uber accident attorney deal with the insurer can show the insurance company how seriously our clients take their cases. Unfortunately, it is not unusual for the insurance company to fight back. Even though Uber and Lyft have $1 million insurance policies in effect, they are only active during specific times.

Rideshare drivers must be in driver mode. If the rideshare driver is not logged into the Uber or Lyft app, they are just like any other motorist and subject to their own personal auto insurance coverage. Rideshare drivers must be in the vehicle and actively waiting for a passenger or currently transporting a passenger for the rideshare company’s insurance coverage to be active.

These rideshare companies provide rideshare drivers with specific types and amounts of insurance coverage, including:

  • Underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage up to $1 million
  • $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in bodily injury liability
  • $25,000 per accident and property damage liability
  • Comprehensive and collision
  • Deductibles up to $2,500

Valuable Evidence to Gather at the Accident Scene 

While at the accident scene, injury victims should take time to collect as much evidence as possible to support their case. Our Uber accident attorneys will conduct an in-depth investigation and collect evidence along the way, but evidence at the accident scene may be time-sensitive. Examples of valuable evidence could include:

  • Copies of personal insurance policies
  • Photos of the damage at the accident scene
  • Photos of the injuries victims suffered
  • Witness statements and contact information
  • Names and addresses of businesses and residential properties that appear to have cameras that may have caught the collision on video
  • The names, contact information, and insurance details of rideshare drivers and other potentially liable parties‍

How Our Uber Accident Lawyers Can Help 

Our Lyft accident lawyers are here to make our client’s lives easier. While they focus on healing from their injuries, our team will work tirelessly to prove the defendant’s negligence and liability. We will carefully investigate the cause of the accident, being sure to gather evidence of distracted driving, drunk driving, or any other traffic violations. The investigation should identify anyone and everyone who may have contributed to the Injuries our clients suffered.

We will carefully evaluate the details of our client’s case to determine which legal options are most suitable. In some cases, we may be able to file a claim against the rideshare service company’s $1 million auto insurance policy. However, if this is not an option, we may be able to file a claim against the rideshare driver’s personal auto insurance policy or our client’s no-fault insurance coverage.

When insurance supplements are not enough to meet injury victim’s needs, a Lyft accident lawyer might recommend moving forward with a personal injury lawsuit. This way, injury victims are not limited to the types and amounts of coverage available through an insurance claim.

Florida Uber & Lyft Accident FAQ

When accident victims are struggling to cope with the catastrophic injuries they were diagnosed with, exorbitant financial losses, and severe emotional distress, thinking about going to trial may be the furthest thing from their minds. Fortunately, with help from a respected Lyft accident attorney, they can focus on recuperating while their personal injury lawyer works on building a powerful case against those responsible. 

Before moving forward with a lawsuit or claim with the insurance company, victims may have many unanswered questions. To that end, we have answered some of the most frequently asked questions surrounding Lyft and Uber accident claims below. When rideshare accident survivors have additional questions we did not cover on this page, they can contact our office for a 100% free consultation to get customized answers when they need the most.

What Happens if I Am Accused of Shared Fault?

Rideshare accident victims are often accused of sharing fault, so do not lose hope. Hiring our Lyft accident attorneys can make all the difference in whether survivors are taken advantage of by liable parties and insurance companies. 

Florida used to be a pure comparative negligence state. When injury victims were partially at fault for the accident they were involved in or their subsequent injuries, they would still be entitled to compensation for their damages. However, their settlements would be reduced proportionately. For example, if someone was traveling in a Lyft or Uber and not wearing their seatbelt when their rideshare driver crashed due to distracted driving, the judge might have found them 5% at fault and reduced their settlement by 5% accordingly. 

In 2023, these Florida shares liability laws changed. Now, the state follows a modified comparative negligence system. Before, it did not matter how much fault injury victims shared. They could be up to 99% at fault and still be awarded compensation for the one percent of blame that was not theirs. However, now, there is a 50% bar threshold. This means injury victims who are more than 50% responsible for the accident will not be able to proceed with their personal injury lawsuit. 

Anyone who shares fault below the threshold will still be entitled to compensation for their suffering at a reduced rate the same way pure comparative negligence laws did. Car accident lawyers are especially important when allegations of shared fault are made, as we can ensure liability is accurately established so our clients are not taken advantage of during one of the most difficult times in their lives.

Do I Have Grounds For a Rideshare Accident Claim?

To determine whether our clients have grounds for a claim, we must consider whether someone else is at fault and how substantially our client’s lives have been affected by the injuries they sustained. For any Uber or Lyft accident lawsuit to be successful, our car accident lawyers must demonstrate that the elements of negligence have been met. 

Here, we must show that the defendant owed the victim a duty of care and violated that duty in some way. For example, rideshare accident drivers owe a duty of care to their passengers, and any instance of negligent driving could be considered a breach of that duty of care. The liable party’s breach of the duty of care must be the cause of the rideshare accident or the victim’s resulting injuries. 

Injury victims must have experienced significant damages to win. It may not be clear in the aftermath of the accident whether survivors have grounds for legal action against rideshare drivers and other at-fault parties. We will carefully review the specific circumstances of the collision to determine whether injury victims should be awarded compensation and how to go about making the liable party pay.

How Much Will it Cost to Hire an Attorney?

At this time, injury victims do not need to worry about the costs of hiring our rideshare accident lawyers. We work for our clients based on contingency agreements. Unlike family law attorneys and criminal defense lawyers, we do not require our clients to put any money down as a retainer. Lawyers focusing on other practice areas may require these funds as a means of covering their client’s expenses throughout the course of their legal battle. 

However, we cover these costs for our clients. After everything they have been through, it is the least we can do. We do not believe our client should ever have to put their own money at risk when they are already struggling with substantial physical injuries, astronomical financial expenses, and extreme mental anguish. 

When we win, a percentage of our client’s award will go towards our attorney’s fees and only at that point do we recover any costs spent up front for our clients. The exact amount injury victims can expect to pay will vary widely on a case-by-case basis. We will be sure to discuss the details of our contingency agreement before we move forward with any insurance or civil claims

How Much Is My Car Accident Claim Worth?

Our rideshare accident attorneys closely evaluate the various ways our client’s lives have been affected by their Uber and Lyft accidents and subsequent injuries. Under Florida tort laws, car accident victims have the right to be made whole. 

This means they should be reimbursed for not only financially-based damages, also called economic damages but every way their lives have been affected by the incident as well. These non-financial losses are also commonly referred to as non-economic damages. Some examples of potentially recoverable economic and non-economic damages in Uber & Lyft accident claims include:

  • Mental anguish
  • Disfigurement
  • Embarrassing skins cars
  • Inconvenience
  • Pain and suffering
  • Loss of consortium
  • Medical bills
  • Loss of employee benefits
  • Future medical treatment costs
  • Out-of-pocket expenses
  • Personal property damages
  • Diminished quality of life
  • Loss of household services
  • Inconvenience and indignity
  • Shame and shock
  • Reputational damages

Some of the facts our personal injury lawyers may need to consider when calculating the value of our client’s claims include:

  • The specific details of the collision
  • The extent of our client’s injuries
  • The availability of supporting evidence
  • The types and amount of insurance coverage
  • When insurance was active

How Long Do I Have to File My Uber Accident Claim?

We must review our client’s claims to determine how much longer they have to decide whether they are going to file a lawsuit or a claim with the insurance company. Florida has strict personal injury statute of limitations laws that only allow victims up to two years to file their claims. 

This is a significant reduction in the amount of time injury victims have to file a lawsuit. The law changed in 2023 when Governor DeSantis signed legislation that reduced the statute of limitations time frame from four years to two. 

It is also important to remember that insurance companies have deadlines, with some as short as 48 hours. Whether filing a claim with the insurance company or pursuing a Lyft accident lawsuit, these deadlines must be met. A knowledgeable rideshare accident attorney at Luhrsen Goldberg will ensure these deadlines are met so the compensation our clients are entitled to will not be put at risk.

Get Help From Our Rideshare Accident Attorneys Today

The impact of Uber accident injuries may be felt in nearly every aspect of injury victim’s lives. It is crucial to get legal guidance and support when survivors need help covering their costs and holding at-fault parties accountable for negligence. 

An established rideshare accident lawyer at Luhrsen Goldberg working for Uber accident survivors gives the victim an opportunity to recover total compensation for their suffering and damages. Learn more about the value of insurance and civil claims after a rideshare crash by scheduling a free, no-obligation consultation. Reach us through our online contact form to get started as soon as today.